HomeCricketIndia Vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI: 3 Records Broken By the Indian...

India Vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI: 3 Records Broken By the Indian Cricket Team in their impressive win against Sri Lanka.

In the 3rd ODI, India defeated Sri Lanka by 317 runs to clinch the 3-match ODI series by 3-0. India posted a huge total of 390/5 against Sri Lanka with the help of incredible centuries from Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli. Gill scored a quick-fire 116 off 97 deliveries and Kohli smashed an unbeaten 166 runs off just 110 balls which comprised 13 fours and 8 sixes. It was Virat Kohli’s 46th ODI hundred. Sri Lanka’s run chase was cut short even before it began by the mighty Indian Bowling Attack. Mohammed Siraj picked up 4 wickets and crushed Sri Lanka’s hope to reach the target of 391. Shami and Kuldeep Yadav picked up 2 wickets each to put an end to Sri Lanka’s run chase in merely 22 overs as the side could only reach 73. Apart from this, Let us have a look into the 3 Records Broken by The Indian Cricket Team in the impressive win against Sri Lanka in the 3rd ODI.

3 Records Broken by The Indian Cricket Team in the impressive win against Sri Lanka.

1 Team India broke the record for the largest victory in ODI after they defeated Sri Lanka by a mammoth 317 runs in the 3rd ODI of the 3-match ODI series.

Here’s the list of highest victories by runs in ODIs:

  • 317 – India vs Sri Lanka, 2024
  • 290 – New Zealand vs Ireland, 2008
  • 275 – Australia vs Afghanistan, 2015
  • 272 – South Africa vs Zimbabwe, 2010
  • 257 – India vs Bermuda, 2007

2 For the first time Virat Kohli smashed 8 sixes in an ODI series

Most Sixes by Virat Kohli in an ODI innings:

8 vs SL in Trivandrum, 2024

7 vs AUS in Jaipur, 2013

5 vs SA in Chennai, 2015

5 vs ENG in Pune, 2017

3  Virat Kohli has smashed most ODI hundreds (21) on home soil now.

Most ODI hundreds on home soil:

Virat Kohli – 21

Sachin Tendulkar – 20

After clinching the ODI series 3-0 against Sri Lanka, Team India will be next seen in action against New Zealand as the two sides are set to meet each other for a three-match ODI series. Kl Rahul will miss the series due to personal commitments as well Axar Patel will miss the series as Shahbaz Ahmed has been named as his replacement in the squad.

Also ReadIndia vs Pakistan head to head in T20 World Cup: Stats, Records, Results, Date, and Venue

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Abhishek Soni
Abhishek Sonihttp://thesportslite.com
Abhishek Soni is a Media Student who is currently pursuing his Masters from Jaipur. He has done his graduation in Media from Delhi. He is fond of writing and expressing his views on various topics and the favourite is sports. For The SportsLite, he has written more than 300 articles since start and will aspire to write more and more. Previously, he has worked with few other organisations as well.

Read More