Tuesday, December 12, 2023
HomeListiclesUS Open Men’s Winners list, who has won the Most US Open...

US Open Men’s Winners list, who has won the Most US Open titles?

The US Open Tennis Championship famously known as the US Open is one of the grand slam tournaments played every year. It was founded in the year 1881 and so far, a total of 143 editions of the tournament have taken place. This year’s US Open is no less than a celebration as this is the 50th US Open event with equal prize money for both men and women.

The tournament has five different primary championships played every year. Men’s and Women’s Singles, Mixed Doubles, and Men’s and Women’s double. Also, there are various other US Open championships for Junior, Senior, and wheelchair players.

Every year fans witness the rise of a new star and in the past couple of years, the US Open has got a new champion. So, let’s take a look at the US Open Men’s Winners list since it was founded to date.

US Open Men’s Winners List

Year Country Winners
2022  ESP Carlos Alcaraz
2021  RUS Daniil Medvedev
2020  AUT Dominic Thiem
2019  ESP Rafael Nadal
2018  SRB Novak Djokovic
2017  ESP Rafael Nadal
2016   SUI Stan Wawrinka
2015  SRB Novak Djokovic
2014  CRO Marin Cilic
2013  ESP Rafael Nadal
2012  GBR Andy Murray
2011  SRB Novak Djokovic
2010  ESP Rafael Nadal
2009  ARG Juan Martín del Potro
2008   SUI Roger Federer
2007   SUI Roger Federer
2006   SUI Roger Federer
2005   SUI Roger Federer
2004   SUI Roger Federer
2003  USA Andy Roddick
2002  USA Pete Sampras
2001  AUS Lleyton Hewitt
2000  RUS Marat Safin
1999  USA Andre Agassi
1998  AUS Patrick Rafter
1997  AUS Patrick Rafter
1996  USA Pete Sampras
1995  USA Pete Sampras
1994  USA Andre Agassi
1993  USA Pete Sampras
1992  SWE Stefan Edberg
1991  SWE Stefan Edberg
1990  USA Pete Sampras
1989  FRG Boris Becker
1988  SWE Mats Wilander
1987  TCH Ivan Lendl
1986  TCH Ivan Lendl
1985  TCH Ivan Lendl
1984  USA John McEnroe
1983  USA Jimmy Connors
1982  USA Jimmy Connors
1981  USA John McEnroe
1980  USA John McEnroe
1979  USA John McEnroe
1978  USA Jimmy Connors
1977  ARG Guillermo Vilas
1976  USA Jimmy Connors
1975  ESP Manuel Orantes
1974  USA Jimmy Connors
1973  AUS John Newcombe
1972  ROU Ilie Nastase
1971  USA Stan Smith
1970  AUS Ken Rosewall
1969  AUS Rod Laver
1968  USA Arthur Ashe
1967  AUS John Newcombe
1966  AUS Fred Stolle
1965  ESP Manuel Santana
1964  AUS Roy Emerson
1963  MEX Rafael Osuna
1962  AUS Rod Laver
1961  AUS Roy Emerson
1960  AUS Neale Fraser
1959  AUS Neale Fraser
1958  AUS Ashley Cooper
1957  AUS Malcolm Anderson
1956  AUS Ken Rosewall
1955  USA Tony Trabert
1954  USA Vic Seixas
1953  USA Tony Trabert
1952  AUS Frank Sedgman
1951  AUS Frank Sedgman
1950  USA Arthur Larsen
1949  USA Pancho Gonzales
1948  USA Pancho Gonzales
1947  USA Jack Kramer
1946  USA Jack Kramer
1945  USA Frank Parker
1944  USA Frank Parker
1943  USA Joseph Hunt
1942  USA Ted Schroeder
1941  USA Bobby Riggs
1940  USA Don McNeill
1939  USA Bobby Riggs
1938  USA Don Budge
1937  USA Don Budge
1936  GBR Fred Perry
1935  USA Wilmer Allison
1934  GBR Fred Perry
1933  GBR Fred Perry
1932  USA Ellsworth Vines
1931  USA Ellsworth Vines
1930  USA John Doeg
1929  USA Bill Tilden
1928  FRA Henri Cochet
1927  FRA René Lacoste
1926  FRA René Lacoste
1925  USA Bill Tilden
1924  USA Bill Tilden
1923  USA Bill Tilden
1922  USA Bill Tilden
1921  USA Bill Tilden
1920  USA Bill Tilden
1919  USA Bill Johnston
1918  USA Robert Lindley Murray
1917  USA Robert Lindley Murray
1916  USA Richard Norris Williams
1915  USA Bill Johnston
1914  USA Richard Norris Williams
1913  USA Maurice McLoughlin
1912  USA Maurice McLoughlin
1911  USA William Larned
1910  USA William Larned
1909  USA William Larned
1908  USA William Larned
1907  USA William Larned
1906  USA William Clothier
1905  USA Beals Wright
1904  USA Holcombe Ward
1903  GBR Laurence Doherty
1902  USA William Larned
1901  USA William Larned
1900  USA Malcolm Whitman
1899  USA Malcolm Whitman
1898  USA Malcolm Whitman
1897  USA Robert Wrenn
1896  USA Robert Wrenn
1895  USA Frederick Hovey
1894  USA Robert Wrenn
1893  USA Robert Wrenn
1892  USA Oliver Campbell
1891  USA Oliver Campbell
1890  USA Oliver Campbell
1889  USA Henry Slocum
1888  USA Henry Slocum
1887  USA Richard Sears
1886  USA Richard Sears
1885  USA Richard Sears
1884  USA Richard Sears
1883  USA Richard Sears
1882  USA Richard Sears
1881  USA Richard Sears


In case you missed: Who is the Tennis G.O.A.T ? Most Grand Slams in History

Who has won the Most US Open titles?

  • Bill Tilden – 7 times
  • Williams Larned – 7 times
  • Richard Sears – 7 times
  • Pete Sampras – 5 times
  • Jimmy Connors – 5 times
  • Roger Federer – 5 times

Read More: What do Tennis Players Drink and Eat during matches?

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopeshttp://thesportslite.com
Hello Everyone, I am Nikhil Lopes, working as the Content Editor for The Sportslite. I am a Sports Addict and love to watch & Write about them.

Read More