HomeListiclesList of NHL Leading Goal-Scorers By Season

List of NHL Leading Goal-Scorers By Season

Alexander Ovechkin tops the Most Seasons (9) with topping the Goal-scoring Leaderboard.

In the thrilling world of ice hockey, the Goal Leaders by season hold a special place of honor. Since the beginning of the NHL, The Goal-Scoring Race has been tight and fiercely contested. The NHL has also been awarding the Maurice Richard Trophy for the Leading Goal-scorer since 1999. This article delves into the thrilling history of the NHL’s leading goal-scorers by season. Discover the incredible statistics that have paved their path to glory, leaving a mark on the sport and inspiring future generations to chase their own goal-scoring dreams.

National Hockey League Goal Leaders By Season

SeasonTop Goal-ScorerTeam(s)Goals
1917-18Joe MaloneMontreal Canadiens44
1918-19Newsy LalondeMontreal Canadiens23
1919-20Joe MaloneQuebec Athletics39
1920-21Babe DyeHamilton Tigers, Toronto St. Pats35
1921-22Punch BroadbentOttawa Senators31
Babe DyeToronto St. Pats31
1922-23Babe DyeToronto St. Pats31
1923-24Cy DennenyOttawa Senators22
1924-25Babe DyeToronto St. Pats38
1925-26Nels StewartMontreal Maroons34
1926-27Bill CookNew York Rangers33
1927-28Howie MorenzMontreal Canadiens33
1928-29Ace BaileyToronto Maple Leafs22
1929-30Cooney WellandBoston Bruins43
1930-31Charlie ConacherToronto Maple Leafs31
1931-32Charlie ConacherToronto Maple Leafs34
1932-33Bill CookNew York Rangers28
1933-34Charlie ConacherToronto Maple Leafs32
1934-35Charlie ConacherToronto Maple Leafs36
1935-36Charlie ConacherToronto Maple Leafs23
Bill ThomsToronto Maple Leafs23
1936-37Larry AurieDetroit Red Wings23
Nels StewartBoston Bruins, New York Americans23
1937-38Gordie DrillonToronto Maple Leafs26
1938-39Roy ConacherBoston Bruins26
1939-40Bryan HextallNew York Rangers24
1940-41Bryan HextallNew York Rangers26
1941-42Lynn PatrickNew York Rangers32
1942-43Doug BentlyChicago Black Hawks33
1943-44Doug BentlyChicago Black Hawks38
1944-45Maurice RichardMontreal Canadiens50
1945-46Gaye StewartToronto Maple Leafs37
1946-47Maurice RichardMontreal Canadiens45
1947-48Ted LindsayDetroit Red Wings33
1948-49Sid AbelDetroit Red Wings28
1949-50 Maurice RichardMontreal Canadiens43
1950-51Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings43
1951-52Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings47
1952-53Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings49
1953-54Maurice RichardMontreal Canadiens37
1954-55Bernie GeoffrionMontreal Canadiens38
Maurice RichardMontreal Canadiens38
1955-56Jean BeliveauMontreal Canadiens47
1956-57Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings44
1957-58Dickie MooreMontreal Canadiens36
1958-59Jean BeliveauMontreal Canadiens45
1959-60Bronco HorvathBoston Bruins39
Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks39
1960-61Bernie GeoffrionMontreal Canadiens50
1961-62Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks43
1962-63Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings38
1963-64Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks43
1964-65Norm UlmanDetroit Red Wings42
1965-66Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks54
1966-67Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks52
1967-68Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks44
1968-69Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks58
1969-70Phil EspositoBoston Bruins43
1970-71Phil EspositoBoston Bruins76
1971-72Phil EspositoBoston Bruins66
1972-73Phil EspositoBoston Bruins55
1973-74Phil EspositoBoston Bruins68
1974-75Phil EspositoBoston Bruins61
1975-76Reggie LeachPhiladelphia Flyers61
1976-77Steve ShuttMontreal Canadiens60
1977-78Guy LafleurMontreal Canadiens60
1978-79Mike BossyNew York Islanders69
1979-80Danny GareBuffalo Sabres56
Charlie SimmerLos Angeles Kings56
Blaine SloughtonHartford Whalers56
1980-81Mike BossyNew York Islanders68
1981-82Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers92
1982-83Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers71
1983-84Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers87
1984-85Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers73
1985-86Jari KurriEdmonton Oilers68
1986-87Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers62
1987-88Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins70
1988-89Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins85
1989-90Brett HullSt. Louis Blues72
1990-91Brett HullSt. Louis Blues86
1991-92Brett HullSt. Louis Blues70
1992-93Alexander MogilnyBuffalo Sabres76
Teemu SelanneWinnipeg Jets76
1993-34Pavel BureVancouver Canucks60
1994-95Peter BondraWashington Capitals34
1995-96Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins69
1996-97Keith TkachukPhoenix Coyotes52
1997-98Peter BondraWashington Capitals52
Teemu SelanneMighty Ducks of Anaheim52
1998-99Teemu SelanneMighty Ducks of Anaheim47
1999-2000Pavel BureFlorida Panthers58
2000-01Pavel BureFlorida Panthers59
2001-02Jarome IginlaCalgary Flames52
2002-03Milan HejdukColorado Avalanche50
2003-04Jarome IginlaCalgary Flames41
Ilya KovalchukAtlanta Thrashers41
Rick NashColumbus Blue Jackets41
2005-06Jonathan CheechooSan Jose Sharks56
2006-07Vincent LecavalierTampa Bay Lightning52
2007-08Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals65
2008-09Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals56
2009-10Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins51
Steven StamkosTampa Bay Lightning51
2010-11Corey PerryAnaheim Ducks50
2011-12Steven StamkosTampa Bay Lightning60
2012-13Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals32
2013-14Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals51
2014-15Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals53
2015-16Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals50
2016-17Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins44
2017-18Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals49
2018-19Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals51
2019-20Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals48
David PastrnakBoston Bruins48
2020-21Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs41
2021-22Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs60
2022-23Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers64
The 2004-05 season was canceled owing to the NHL Lockout

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Mohammed Bazim
Mohammed Bazimhttp://thesportslite.com
Mohammed Bazim S is a final-year Journalism student with a deep passion for sports reporting. At the age of 19, he is already making strides towards his dream of becoming a paddock reporter and rinkside correspondent. With a particular love for ice hockey and Formula 1, Mohammed aspires to capture the excitement of these sports through immersive reporting. His enthusiasm, coupled with his dedication to honing his skills, sets him on a path towards bringing the thrilling world of sports to life for fans worldwide.

Read More