HomeMotorsportsF1Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix Winners List

Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix Winners List

The Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit, famously called the Mexican Grand Prix, is one of the grand prix in the F1 calendar. It is 4.3 kilometers long and has witnessed many close contest races every year. The Grand Prix is one of the oldest grand prix and has been in and out of the F1 race calendar. It all began in 1962 when it hosted its first-ever F1 Grand Prix, and this year is going to be its 24th Mexican Grand Prix. So, let’s take a look at the Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix Winners List.

Mexican Grand Prix Winners List

From 1962 to 1970

Year Driver Constructor
1962 Trevor Taylor and Jim Clark Lotus-Climax
1963 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax
1964 Dan Gurney Brabham-Climax
1965 Richie Ginther Honda
1966 John Surtees Cooper-Maserati
1967 Jim Clark Lotus-Ford
1968 Graham Hill Lotus-Ford
1969 Denny Hulme McLaren-Ford
1970 Jacky Ickx Ferrari

No Grand Prix held from 1971 to 1985

From 1986 to 1992

Year Driver Constructor
1986 Gerhard Berger Benetton-BMW
1987 Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda
1988 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda
1989 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1990 Alain Prost Ferrari
1991 Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault
1992 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault

No Grand Prix was held from 1993 to 2014

From 2015 to present

Year Driver Constructor
2015 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2017 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer
2018 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2020 No Grand Prix was held due to COVID-19
2021 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-Honda
2022 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-RBPT


Most wins by a driver at the Mexican Grand Prix

Wins Driver Years won
4 Max Verstappen 2017, 2018, 2021, 2022
3 Jim Clark 1962, 1963, 1967
2 Alain Prost 1988, 1990
2 Nigel Mansell 1987, 1992
2 Lewis Hamilton 2016, 2019

The Dutch racing driver Max Verstappen has won the Mexican Grand Prix four times, which is the most by any racer in F1 history. His first win came in 2017, second in 2018, third in 2021, and fourth in 2022.

Most wins by a constructor at the Mexican Grand Prix

Wins Constructor Years won
4  Lotus 1962, 1963, 1967, 1968
4  Red Bull 2017, 2018, 2021, 2022
3  McLaren 1969, 1988, 1989
3  Williams 1987, 1991, 1992
3  Mercedes 2015, 2016, 2019

Both Lotus and the Red Bull teams have won the Grand Prix four times each. Which is the joint-most by a constructor in F1 history. The Lotus team won the Grand Prix in 1962, 1963, 1967, and 1968. Currently, they are not part of F1.

On the other hand, Red Bull is a part of F1 and has won the Grand Prix in 2017, 2018, 2021, and 2022.

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopes
Hi, this is Nikhil Lopes, who has a great interest in sports. Nikhil has been following several sports in the past few years, like the NFL, football, NBA, F1, UFC, cricket, and many more. The term 'sports addict' completely suits him.

Read More