Saturday, December 2, 2023
HomeFootballEvery Ballon d’Or Winner: Know which player has won the Most Ballon...

Every Ballon d’Or Winner: Know which player has won the Most Ballon d’Or

Winning a Ballon d’Or is one of the achievements every footballer dreams of. It is one of the prestigious awards that is given to a footballer based on their performance throughout the football season. Every footballer dreams of winning the award at least once in their football career. Well, there are players who have won the award once in their football career, and there are some who have won it several times. So let’s not wait any longer and take a look at every Ballon d’Or winner and know which player has won the most Ballon d’Or.

Every Ballon d’Or Winner

The below list contains every footballer who has won the Ballon d’Or from 1956 to the present.

From 1956 to 1960

Year Player Nationality Club
1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool
1957 Alfredo Di Stefano Argentina Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1959 Alfredo Di Stefano Argentina Real Madrid
1960 Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona

In case you missed: UEFA Champions League Winners List

From 1961 to 1970

Year Player Nationality Club
1961 Omar Sivori Italy Juventus
1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1963 Lev Yashin Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1964 Denis Law Scotland Manchester United
1965 Eusébio Portugal Benfica
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert Hungary Ferencv rosi TC
1968 George Best Northern Ireland Manchester United
1969 Gianni Rivera Italy Milan
1970 Gerd Müller West Germany Bayern Munich


From 1971 to 1980

Year Player Nationality Club
1971 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Ajax
1972 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1973 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1975 Oleg Blokhin Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1976 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark Borussia M’nchengladbach
1978 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich

Read More: FIFA Club World Cup winners list: Know which club has won the most titles

From 1981 to 1990

Year Player Nationality Club
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Juventus
1983 Michel Platini France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini France Juventus
1985 Michel Platini France Juventus
1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1987 Ruud Gullit Netherlands Milan
1988 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1989 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1990 Lothar Matthäus Germany Internazionale


From 1991 to 2000

Year Player Nationality Club
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France Marseille
1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria Barcelona
1995 George Weah Liberia Milan
1996 Matthias Sammer Germany Borussia Dortmund
1997 Ronaldo Brazil Internazionale
1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus
1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona
2000 Luís Figo Portugal Real Madrid

Also Read: Which club has won the most La Liga titles

From 2001 to 2010

Year Player Nationality Club
2001 Michael Owen England Liverpool
2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid
2003 Pavel Nedvěd Czechia Juventus
2004 Andriy Shevchenko Ukraine Milan
2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid
2007 Kaka Brazil Milan
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United
2009 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona


From 2011 to present

Year Player Nationality Club
2011 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2012 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2018 Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid
2019 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2020 No winner due to Covid-19
2021 Lionel Messi Argentina Paris Saint-Germain F.C.
2022 Karim Benzema France Real Madrid
2023  ? ? ?

In case you missed: Which club has won the most UEFA Champions League titles

Most Ballon d’Or winner: Players with the Most Ballon d’Or

Times won Players Years
7 Lionel Messi 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021
5 Cristiano Ronaldo 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017
3 Johan Cruyff 1971, 1973, 1974
3 Michel Platini 1983, 1984, 1985
3 Marco Van Basten 1988, 1989, 1992

Also Read: La Liga Winners List: Know every La Liga winner from 1929 to 2023

The Argentine footballer Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or seven times, which is the most by any player in football history. He won his first Ballon d’Or in 2009 when he was just 22 years old. He didn’t stop there and won the award for four consecutive years (2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012). After a few years, he won the award at regular intervals, i.e., in 2015, 2019, and 2021.

The second player on the list is Cristiano Ronaldo, with five Ballon d’Ors. He won the award in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2017.

For third place, there is a tie between three players with three Ballon d’Ors. Johan Cruyff won the award in 1971, 1973, and 1974. Michel Platini won the award in 1983, 1984, and 1985. Marco Van Basten won the award in 1988, 1989, and 1992.

Also Read: Sources reveal the Argentine ‘GOAT’ Lionel Messi, will win his 8th Ballon d’Or

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopes
Hello Everyone, I am Nikhil Lopes, working as the Content Editor for The Sportslite. I am a Sports Addict and love to watch & Write about them.

Read More