Thursday, February 9, 2023
HomeHockeyMen's FIH Hockey World Cup 2023: Pools, Teams, Venues, Live Streams, and...

Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup 2023: Pools, Teams, Venues, Live Streams, and Everything you need to know

Bhubaneshwar: The Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup 2023 starts on the 13th of January 2023 in Odisha. The World Cup is the 15th edition of the top-tier Men’s championship in hockey since its establishment in 1971 in Spain.

Bountied by the rich history of India and hockey and the serene atmosphere of the painfully beautiful Indian state of Odisha, hockey fans are in for a gala. As the World Cup visits India for the straight second time, the zeal is exploding and tantalizing.

The Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 features 16 teams from five different confederations. Who will win the cup, a debutant or a veteran? Things are sizzling up and we can’t wait. Nevertheless, Scoop up everything you need to know about the World Cup right here. Also Read: FIFA The Best Awards: Numerous Players From Argentina And England Are Among The Finalists

FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023


The 16 teams are divided into four pools named A, B, C, and D. The teams will play a round-robin among the group members.

The winners of the group will head directly to the Quarter-finals. Meanwhile, the 2nd placed and the 3rd placed will play in a sort of pre-quarter called crossover. The winners of the crossover will meet 1st place in the Quarter-Finals. The winners of the Quarter-finals head to the semi-finals and subsequently final.

At the same time, the fourth place in each pool will head to classification matches. They will be joined by the crossover losers. The losers of the crossovers will play for the 13th to the 16th while the winners play for the 9th to 12th positions.

Pools and Teams

Pool A

ConfederationTeamBest Past Performance
PAHFArgentinaThird Place (2014)
OHFAustralia Champions (2014,2010,1986)
EHFFranceSeventh Place (1986, 1971)
AHFSouth AfricaTenth Place (2010, 1994)

Pool B

ConfederationTeamBest Past Performance
EHFBelgiumChampions (2018)
EHFGermanyChampions (2006,2002)
AHFSouth KoreaFourth Place (2006, 2002)
AHFJapanNinth Place (2006, 1971)

Pool C

ConfederationTeamBest Past Performance
OHFNew ZealandSeventh Place (2014, 1982, 1975, 1973)
EHFNetherlandsChampions (1998, 1990, 1973)
AHFMalaysiaFourth Place (1975)

Pool D

ConfederationTeamBest Past Performance
EHFEnglandRunners-up (1975)
EHFSpainRunners-Up (1998, 1971)
AHFIndiaChampions (1975)


The FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup Fixture can be found on FIH’s official website. Or Click here


The matches take place in two stadiums in two different cities in Odisha. The stadiums are called the pinnacles and temples of hockey in the world in addition to the world-class facilities.

Kalinga Stadium Birsa Munda International Stadium

How to watch?

In Television, Star Sports First, Star Sports Select 2, Star Sports Select 2 HD TV Channels while on live stream, Disney + Hotstar app and website.

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Mohammed Bazim
Mohammed Bazim
With a dream to be in the paddock living the life, Mohammed Bazim is a 19-year-old collegiate who spends his day watching old games, trying to learn more about his passion, Formula One. Hailing from Kerala, he considers himself to be a trivia aficionado. His lover passion for trivia does not end at Formula 1, it just begins there. Bazim loves to write about anything and everything related to Business, Sports, Fashion, and International Relations.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More