No.1 ODI batsman Babar Azam breaks Sachin Tendulkar’s record in all-time ICC ODI rankings, enters elite list

The Pakistan skipper's rich vein of form could see him overtake Gordan Greenidge and Allan Lamb in due time

close up picture of Babar Azam and Sachin Tendulkar

Pakistan Skipper and No.1 ODI batsman Babar Azam continues his record-breaking spree. This time his victim is none other than the God of Cricket himself. Babar leapfrogged Tendulkar in the recently updated list of the ICC ODI rankings to place 15th in the all-time list. The 27-year-old is coming off a successful series against Australia, where he was among the top run-getters.

Despite losing the 3-match test series, Babar was among the top run-getters, scoring 390 runs in five innings. However, the tables turned in the ODI series with the home team winning 2-1 credit to back-to-back centuries by the skipper. Babar continued his purple run into the T20i series as well, scoring 66 of 44 balls. However, the defending champions proved to be too much for the men in green as they beat them with five balls to spare.

Following his unbeaten 105 against Australia last week, Babar shattered another record, becoming the fastest to 16 ODI hundreds. The star batsman achieved the feat in 84 innings, surpassing Hashim Amla, who got there in 94 innings. Australian opener and former Indian Skipper Virat Kohli are placed third on the list, both getting there in 110 innings.

Apart from being the current No.1 ODI batsman, Babar Azam is now ranked 15th among batsmen in the ICC All-Time ODI Rankings. Last week, the little master Sachin Tendulkar ranked 15th on the all-time charts, with 887 rating points. With 935 rating points, Sir Viv Richards is in top place, followed by Zaheer Abbas (931), Greg Chappell (921), David Gower (919), and Dean Jones (918). Virat Kohli is ranked sixth on the panel with 911 rating points.

Take a look at the top-20 all-time ICC ODI ranking list:

  1. Viv Richards – 935 Points
  2. Zaheer Abbas – 931 Points
  3. Greg Chappel – 921 Points
  4. David Gower – 919 Points
  5. Dean Jones – 918 Points
  6. Virat Kohli – 911 Points
  7. Javid Miandad – 910 Points
  8. Brian Lara – 908 Points
  9. Ab de Villiers – 902 Points
  10. Hashim Amla – 901 Points
  11. Desmond Haynes – 900 Points
  12. Gary Kirsten – 900 Points
  13. Allan Lamb – 897 Points
  14. Gorden Greenidge – 895 Points
  15. Babar Azam – 891 Points
  16. Sachin Tendulkar – 887 Points
  17. Michael Bevan – 885 Points
  18. Rohit Sharma – 885 Points
  19. David Warner – 880 Points
  20. Keppler Wessels – 872 Points

For more such exciting content, please keep visiting

Do follow us on: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a great day ahead 🙂