Wednesday, December 6, 2023
HomeCricketEmerging player award winner in each season of IPL

Emerging player award winner in each season of IPL

Ruturaj Gaikwad tops the list with a total of 635 runs in his account.

Where talent meets opportunity’ is the tagline of IPL and it perfectly fits with IPL. This league has given numerous opportunities to numerous players to show their skill sets at the highest level and many of them have gone on to play for their respective national teams as well. Let’s look at such youngsters who have been declared emerging player award winner in each season of IPL.

List of emerging player award winner

2008:- Shreevats Goswami

Shreevats Goswami won the emerging player award of the season in 2008. This left-hand wicket-keeper batter was part of Royal Challengers Bangalore. In 4 games, he scored 82 runs at 27.33 and striking at 96.47. This includes a half-century of 52 runs. In the future, he played for Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals.

2009:- Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma, an Indian all-format captain is one of the many creations of IPL. In 2009, he played for Deccan Chargers. In a total of 13 games with Deccan in 2009, Rohit scored 404 runs at an average of 36.73. He accumulated those runs with a strike rate of 147.99. This young lad, over the years, has evolved into the most successful captain of the IPL. 

2010:- Saurabh Tiwari

Saurabh Tiwari had mesmerized everyone by his clear hitting in 2010 IPL. The long hairs, hitting style, and his connection with Jharkhand reminded everyone about a certain MSD. Playing for MI in 2010 he scored 419 runs in 16 games, hitting at 135.60. Over the years he played for franchises like Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rising Pune Supergiant.

2011:- Iqbal Abdulla

Iqbal Abdulla became the first bowler to clinch the award of Emerging Player of IPL. Iqbal played for KKR in 2011, where he played a total of 15 games. In those 15 games with KKR, he took 16 wickets. More impressively, he didn’t concede runs at a high rate. The economy of 6.10 speaks a lot about his abilities. 

2012:- Mandeep Singh

Mandeep Singh, who belongs to Punjab played for Kings XI Punjab in 2012 was the winner of the Emerging Player Award. He impressed many experts with his technique and thanks to his maturity he scored a total of 432 runs at an average of 27 and had a strike rate of 1236.32. He also played for Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore in the next few seasons. 

2013:- Sanju Samson

Sanju Samson won this award in his debut season for IPL. This batter from Kerala kept surprising everyone with his exquisite shots. Amazingly, he cleared boundaries with such grace that amazed every fan. In 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals, he scored 206 runs striking at 115.73. The average column shows 25.75. This wicketkeeper batter also took 11 catches. He is now captain of Rajasthan Royals, that is the amount of faith RR management has on Sanju. 

2014:- Axar Patel

When Axar Patel arrived on the scene, many predicted he would be the next Ravindra Jadeja. However, he created his style and now many are idolizing him, especially for the success that he has had over the years in the shadow of Ravindra Jadeja. 2014 was the debut IPL season for him and he won the emerging player award straight away with 17 wickets in 17 matches. This Punjab player suffocated every batter and registered a season economy of 6.14.

2015:- Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer won the 2015 Emerging Player award and the season was his maiden IPL season. Though, it wasn’t any surprise for cricket lovers as Shreyas had had a consistent run in domestic cricket. He continued his rich vein of form in this glamorous league and scored 439 runs in 14 matches. He was playing for Delhi Capitals and had a strike rate of 128.36 and an average of 33.77. for the upcoming IPL, he will lead Kolkata Knight Riders. 

2016:- Mustafizur Rahman 

Mustafizur Rahman, became the first overseas player to win this prestigious award. This SRH player was playing his debut IPL season and led SRH to win their maiden IPL title. No batter had any answer to his slower ones, cutters, and Yorkers. He kept runs under control and bagged 17 wickets in 16 games at an average of 24.76 and an economy of 6.90. ‘Fizz’ was the spearhead of one of the best bowling lineups of IPL. 

2017:- Basil Thampi

Basil Thampi, the fast bowler from Kerala won Emerging Player of the season in 2017. He was playing for Gujarat Lions. In this debut season, he took 11 wickets in 12 games. Though he conceded runs at the higher economy, his temperament and ability to bowl under pressure helped him to win the award. Sadly, Basil’s IPL career hasn’t yet flourished as everyone expected as he only played 8 games across the next 3 seasons. 

2018:- Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant made his IPL debut for Delhi Daredevils in 2016. He had a decent debut season and the next season of 2017. But in 2018, the more experienced Rishabh surprised everyone by scoring a whopping 684 runs in 14 games at an average of 52.63 and he did strike at 173.60. Obviously, these amazing numbers made him the winner of the emerging player of the season 2018. He is now the captain of the Delhi Capitals. 

2019:- Shubhman Gill

Shumbhan Gill was praised by everyone for his heroics in the 2018 ICC U-19 World Cup and he was picked immediately by KKR. He almost had an identical season of 2018 and 2019, by scoring 203 and 296 runs respectively at an average of 33. Perhaps with the cumulative effect, he won the emerging award in 2019. His gorgeous shot-making stuns everyone who watches him bat. 

2020:- Devdutta Paddikal 

Devdutta Paddilkal made his IPL debut in 2020 for RCB. First and foremost, he quickly cemented his place as opening batter and the rest is history. This elegant left-hand batter scored 473 runs at 31.53 striking at 124.80. These performances made him the winner of the emerging player of the season 2020. More importantly, when India was fighting the pandemic, his stylish shots brought smiles to everybody’s faces. 

2021:- Ruturaj Gaikwad

Ruturaj Gaikwad has his version of struggle. He was picked for the 2020 season, suffered from Covid, had to isolate himself in the middle of IPL. Fortunately, got the opportunity at the fag end of the season when CSK had already been knocked out. He stood tall, scored some beautiful 50s, and fixed his place for the 2021 season. In the 2021 season, all the hard work paid off. He effortlessly accumulated 635 runs at 45.36 and played a vital role to help CSK to win their 4th IPL title. He deserved this award in 2021. 

Consolidated table version:

2008Shreevats Goswami (RCB)
2009Rohit Sharma (DC)
2010Saurabh Tiwary (MI)
2011Iqbal Abdulla (KKR)
2012Mandeep Singh (KXIP)
2013Sanju Samson (RR)
2014Axar Patel (KXIP)
2015Shreyas Iyer (DC)
2016Mustafizur Rahman (SRH)
2017Basil Thampi (GL)
2018Rishabh Pant (DC)
2019Shubman Gill (KKR)
2020Devdutt Padikkal (RCB)
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)

For more such interesting content related to Cricket, keep checking

Have a great day ahead 🙂

Saurabh Karmarkar
Saurabh Karmarkar
An ardent Test cricket fan, a loyal Bayern Munich supporter who loves to write about sports and a fitness enthusiast.

Read More