CSK vs KKR: Who will win the first match of IPL 2022?

Both the teams will be led by two new captains


It’s CSK vs KKR! The defending champions CSK will lock horns with rivals KKR in the inaugural match of IPL 2022. Jadeja-led CSK will definitely have an edge over the Knights in Wankhede. The last time these two sides faced each other was the finals of IPL 2021 where Dhoni’s men outclassed KKR to clinch their 4th title. CSK sustain a staggering record in Mumbai with a win percentage of 63.15%. In 19 matches, the yellow army has won on 12 occasions. On the other hand, KKR will look forward to improve their numbers in Wankhede as they have so far won only once in the iconic stadium. CSK will head out to retain their title and will surely be upbeat to begin on a winning note.

With a range of mighty power-hitters in both the teams, the season opener is all set to be a nail-biting clash. In 27 matches between the sides, CSK toppled KKR on 18 occasions while the Knights won the remaining 8. In IPL 2021, KKR failed to breach the fortress of CSK and lost to them thrice.

Match Details

IPL 15 | Match No. 01 | Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Date : Saturday, March 26, 2022

Time :  7:30 PM IST

Venue : Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Where To Watch : Star Sports Network and Disney+ Hotstar

Read Also: CSK vs KKR Dream11 Team Prediction, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Captain & Vice-Captain, Playing XI, Pitch report and other updates

KKR’s new skipper Shreyas Iyer has won the toss and has opted to field. The Whistle Podu brigade will bank heavily on Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, and captain Ravindra Jadeja. Ex-KKR cricketer Robin Uthappa too will aim to give his best against his former team. For KKR, pressure will be on the Caribbean power-duo Andre Russell and Sunil Narine. All eyes will be on Shreyas Iyer on how he leads his new franchise in IPL 2022.

CSK vs KKR Playing XI

Kolkata Knight Riders : Venkatesh Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer(c), Nitish Rana, Sam Billings(wk), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Jackson, Umesh Yadav, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy

Chennai Super Kings : Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja(c), Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni(wk), Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tushar Deshpande

Read Also: IPL 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR) Full Schedule, Day, date, timings, venue, pdf download and other details