HomeLatest Sports News"I feel like I am in the top three!” Donovan Mitchell in...

“I feel like I am in the top three!” Donovan Mitchell in the NBA MVP conversation

Over the past few weeks, the NBA MVP award race has been one of the hot topics, and things are starting to spice up. Players like Luka Doncic, Nikola Jokic, and many more are on the hunt for the award. Similarly, Cavaliers superstar Donovan Mitchell is one of the players in the hunt.

Mitchell is having his best run and is unstoppable in the current season. He believes he has a better chance of winning the MVP award.

Donovan Mitchell said:

“I feel like I am in the top three in the NBA MVP conversation.”

In case you missed: “New York Knicks are in the top five!” Kendrick Perkins on the Knicks title contention

Can Donovan Mitchell win the MVP award?

As mentioned, Mitchell has been unstoppable in the current season. He is averaging 28.4 points, 6.3 assists, 5.4 rebounds, and 2.0 steals per game. These are his career-high averaging stats, and he has consistently performed throughout the season.

Moreover, his efforts have landed in the right place because the Cleveland Cavaliers are standing second in the Eastern Conference.

Mitchell has impressed everyone and is heading perfectly for the MVP award. Undoubtedly, he is among the top candidates and holds a chance of winning the MVP award.

But there might be a problem that he faces. Mitchell has missed nine games, and if he misses more, the 65-game rule will disqualify him from winning the award.

Will Mitchell win the 2O23-24 NBA MVP Award? Let us know your views in the comment section.

Also read: Another NBA player after Kyrie Irving backs Sabrina Lonescu in the Steph vs Sabrina 3-Pointer contest

Donovan Mitchell 2O23-24 Season Stats (average)

Games Played Points per game Assists per game Rebounds per game Steals per game
44 28.4 6.3 5.4 2.0

(Note: The above stats are as of February 2024.)

NBA MVP Award Winners Since 2010

  • 2022: Joel Embiid
  • 2021: Nikola Jokic
  • 2020: Nikola Jokic
  • 2019: Giannis Antetokounmpo
  • 2018: Giannis Antetokounmpo
  • 2017: James Harden
  • 2016: Russell Westbrook
  • 2015: Stephen Curry
  • 2014: Stephen Curry
  • 2013: Kevin Durant
  • 2012: LeBron James
  • 2011: LeBron James
  • 2010: Derrick Rose

Read more: Experts back the Los Angeles Clippers to win the NBA Championship

Thank you for reading. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopes
Hi, this is Nikhil Lopes, who has a great interest in sports. Nikhil has been following several sports in the past few years, like the NFL, football, NBA, F1, UFC, cricket, and many more. The term 'sports addict' completely suits him.

Read More