HomeMotorsportsF1Carlos Sainz wins the Singapore Grand Prix and ends Verstappen record-breaking run

Carlos Sainz wins the Singapore Grand Prix and ends Verstappen record-breaking run

The McLaren driver, Norris, played a major role in Sainz's victory at the Singapore Grand Prix

After Vettel’s victory in Singapore in 2019, Carlos Sainz wins the Singapore Grand Prix for Ferrari. It all started from the pole position on Saturday to a complete race dominance on Sunday. Lando Norris ends second, Lewis Hamilton third, and no Red Bull driver is on the podium for the first time in 2024.

It was one of the most interesting races of 2024, as both Red Bull racers were out in the second qualifying round. Their car was not up to the mark in the qualifying laps as well, and this was one of the toughest Grand Prix for them. With a not-too-good car, Verstappen finishes in the fifth position after starting from the 11th position.

In case you missed: Christian Horner revealed that “Verstappen’s cramp helped him win the 2021 F1 Championship.”

Well, today we are celebrating Carlos Sainz’s victory at the Singapore Grand Prix. This is his first Grand Prix win in 2024 and the second Grand Prix in his career. The McLaren driver, Norris, played a major role in Sainz’s victory. He defended his position against both Mercedes drivers, who were on fresh tires.

But in the final lap of the race, George Russell went into the wall, losing a well-earned podium and important points. Lewis was fourth before the incident, which made him go ahead of his teammate and finish on yet another podium this season.

Also Read: Formula 1 Singapore Grand Prix Winners List

Singapore Grand Prix Result

Position Driver Team Points
1st Carlos Sainz Ferrari 25
2nd Lando Norris McLaren 18
3rd Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 15
4th Charles Leclerc Ferrari 12
5th Max Verstappen Red Bull 10
6th Pierre Gasly Alpine 8
7th Oscar Piastri McLaren 6
8th Sergio Perez Red Bull 4
9th Laim Lawson Alpha Tauri 2
10th Kevin Magnussen Haas 1
11th Alex Albon Williams
12th Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo
13th Nico Hulkenberg Haas
14th Logan Sergent Williams
15th Fernando Alonso Aston Martin
DNF George Russell Mercedes
DNF Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo
DNF Estaban Ocon Alpine
DNF Yuki Tsunoda Alpha Tauri
DNP Lance Stroll Aston Martin

(DNF: did not finish, DNP: did not participate)

Read More: Fernando Alonso creates history. Becomes the first Formula 1 racer to complete 20,000 laps.

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopeshttp://thesportslite.com
Hello everyone! Meet Nikhil Lopes. He is funny because, in a world where people consume alcohol and various substances, Nikhil chooses sports and fitness. He also gets high on sports, and to be normal, he pens down words into articles. As a result, he has many articles next to his name. I hope you enjoy his writing. Stay safe. Be addicted to sports like Nikhil.

Read More