HomeCricketKnow every IPL team since its establishment

Know every IPL team since its establishment

The Indian Premier League famously called the IPL, is one of the biggest sports leagues in the world. It is an annual tournament that takes place only for 70 days but has one of the biggest audiences. As of now, a total of 10 teams compete in 14 league games each for the glorious title. The top four teams qualify for the playoffs and then the finals. Well, a total of 15 different teams have competed in the IPL since its establishment. So, let’s take a look at every IPL team since its establishment.

Every IPL Team

A total of 15 teams have competed in the league so far, and here are the active and defunct teams.

Active Teams

  1. Mumbai Indians: 2008-present (5 times champions)
  2. Kolkata Knight Riders: 2008-present (2 times champions)
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore: 2008-present
  4. Delhi Capitals: 2008-present
  5. Punjab Kings: 2008-present
  6. Chennai Super Kings: 2008-2015 and 2018-present (5 times champions)
  7. Rajasthan Royal: 2008-2015 and 2018-present (1-time champion)
  8. Sunrisers Hyderabad: 2013-present (1-time champion)
  9. Gujarat Titans: 2022-present (1-time champion)
  10. Lucknow Super Giants: 2022-present

In case you missed: Most Expensive Player in every IPL auction

Defunct Teams

  1. Deccan Charges: 2008-2012 (1-time champion)
  2. Kochi Tuskers Kerala: 2011
  3. Pune Warriors India: 2011-2013
  4. Rising Pune Supergiant: 2016-2018
  5. Gujarat Lions: 2016-2018

Also Read: Most Memorable Moments of the IPL!

Fast Facts

  • Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, with five IPL championships, are the most successful teams in IPL history.
  • Rajasthan Royals are the inaugural champions of the league.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, and Rising Pune Supergiant are the only teams to play in an IPL final but haven’t lifted the trophy.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore have played in three IPL finals and have lost all of them.
  • Mumbai Indians have played in 6 IPL finals and have lifted the trophy five times.

Read More: Top 5 players who played most matches for a single franchise in IPL History

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopeshttp://thesportslite.com
Hello everyone! Meet Nikhil Lopes. He is funny because, in a world where people consume alcohol and various substances, Nikhil chooses sports and fitness. He also gets high on sports, and to be normal, he pens down words into articles. As a result, he has many articles next to his name. I hope you enjoy his writing. Stay safe. Be addicted to sports like Nikhil.

Read More