HomeCricketWho is the New Test Captain of New Zealand?

Who is the New Test Captain of New Zealand?

On 15 December 2022, Thursday Morning, New Zealand Cricket Team announced that Kane Williamson has stepped down as New Zealand’s Test Captain after six years in charge. The new captain in test format for New Zealand is Tim Southee. Kane Williamson will continue to be the specialist batter for the blackcaps. Let’s have a look into the New test captain of New Zealand Cricket Team and Kane Williamson’s Journey as a captain as well.

Kane Williamson’s Journey as Captain

Kane Williamson after taking over the captaincy from Brendon McCullum in 2016, led the blackcaps in 40 test matches out of which he won 22, lost 10, and drew 8 matches. Williamson’s batting average increased after becoming the captain as he averaged 57 and even scored 11 hundred for the blackcaps as captain. Kane Williamson led New Zealand to victory in the Inaugural World Test Championship final against India at the Ages Bowl in 2021. He is the most successful captain of New Zealand in the test format.

New Captain of New Zealand Test Team: Tim Southee

Tim Southee is named as the New Test captain of the New Zealand Cricket Team with Tom Latham as his deputy. He will become New Zealand’s 31st Test captain when they play the first test against Pakistan in Karachi on December 26. This isn’t the first time Southee will captain the blackcaps as the player has already captained the team in 22 T20Is and One ODI before. Southee has been playing for the blackcaps for 14 years now. He is one of the most successful and experienced players on the squad and handing him over the test captaincy before the series against Pakistan is the right decision as he has already displayed his aggressive style of leadership in the 22 T20Is he captained New Zealand for. Southee has played 88 test matches in which he picked up 347 wickets in total for the blackcaps.

Tim Southee is excited to lead the blackcaps for the first time in the test format against Pakistan in the upcoming test series starting on December 19.

New Zealand’s Test Squad for Pakistan Tour

Tim Southee (C), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (WK), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (VC), Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, and Will Young.

Also Read: India’s Tour of Bangladesh: Full Schedule, Venues, Squads, and Where to Watch the India vs Bangladesh Clash?

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂

Abhishek Soni
Abhishek Sonihttp://thesportslite.com
Abhishek Soni is a Media Student who is currently pursuing his Masters from Jaipur. He has done his graduation in Media from Delhi. He is fond of writing and expressing his views on various topics and the favourite is sports. For The SportsLite, he has written more than 300 articles since start and will aspire to write more and more. Previously, he has worked with few other organisations as well.

Read More