HomeCricketMohammed Shami becomes the third-highest wicket-taker for India in the ODI World...

Mohammed Shami becomes the third-highest wicket-taker for India in the ODI World Cup

The right-arm fast bowler, Mohammed Shami, surpasses Anil Kumble to become the third-highest wicket taker for India in the ODI World Cup. In the New Zealand vs India game during the 2024 ODI World Cup, he picked a fifer, which resulted in him climbing up the ladder. This is his second fifer in the ODI World Cup and also the best bowling figure in his ODI career.

His first fifer came against the England cricket team during the 2019 ODI World Cup. Altogether, this has resulted in him picking up 36 wickets so far, which is the third-highest by an Indian bowler. One of the interesting facts about him is that he has just played 12 matches. This means he has an average of three wickets per ODI World Cup match.

Legendary players like Zaheer Khan and Javagal Srinath are ahead of him by 44 wickets each. Can he go ahead of them and become the highest wicket-taker for India in the ODI World Cup? For that, we will have to wait for a while and hope he gets enough chances.

In case you missed: Every century of Rohit Sharma in the ODI World Cups

Mohammed Shami Stats in the ODI World Cup

Player Matches Wickets Economy Strike rate Best figures
Mohammed Shami 12 36 5.09 17.69 5/54

(His bowling strike rate of 17.69 is the best by any bowler in the ODI World Cup.)

For your information, Shami has picked up a 4-wicket haul a total of three times and a 5-wicket haul a total of two times. This is the most by an Indian bowler in the ODI World Cup. He has always been a crucial player in India’s squad and should be a part of the playing XI in every game.

Also Read: Rachin Ravindra Nationality: Is Rachin Ravindra Indian?

Top 10 highest wicket-takers for India in the ODI World Cup

  1. Zaheer Khan: 44 wickets (23 matches)
  2. Javagal Srinath: 44 wickets (34 matches)
  3. Mohammed Shami: 36 wickets (12 matches)
  4. Anil Kumble: 31 wickets (18 matches)
  5. Jasprit Bumrah: 29 wickets (14 matches)
  6. Kapil Dev: 28 wickets (26 matches)
  7. Manoj Prabhakar: 24 wickets (19 matches)
  8. Madan Lal: 22 wickets (11 matches)
  9. Yuvraj Singh: 20 wickets (23 matches)
  10. Harbhajan Singh: 20 wickets (21 matches)

Read More: Indian Captains who have scored centuries in the ODI World Cup

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopeshttp://thesportslite.com
Hello everyone! Meet Nikhil Lopes. He is funny because, in a world where people consume alcohol and various substances, Nikhil chooses sports and fitness. He also gets high on sports, and to be normal, he pens down words into articles. As a result, he has many articles next to his name. I hope you enjoy his writing. Stay safe. Be addicted to sports like Nikhil.

Read More