HomeCricketRanking the Best Pace Attack of the IPL 2024 Teams

Ranking the Best Pace Attack of the IPL 2024 Teams

The IPL 2024 season schedule has been announced, and we are only a few days away from non-stop cricket action. All teams have the best cricketers who can turn the match single-handedly. Last year, we witnessed one of the best IPL seasons, with records broken every game. Similarly, things are expected to be record-breaking this season. Before that let us rank the best pace attack of the IPL 2024 teams.

Ranking the Best Pace Attack of the IPL 2024 Teams

Note: The team rankings are based on tier. ‘S’ stands for one of the best, ‘A’ for a good unit, and ‘B’ is for average or below.

  • S Tier (Best): Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals
  • A Tier (Good): Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Lucknow Super Giants, and Punjab Kings
  • B Tier (Average or below): Gujarat Titans, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Delhi Capitals

In case you missed: Ranking the Best Batting Lineup of the IPL 2024 Teams

Ranking the best pace attack of the IPL 2024 teams

S Tier (Best)

1. Mumbai Indians

  • Hardik Pandya
  • Arjun Tendulkar
  • Romario Shepherd ($)
  • Gerald Coetzee ($)
  • Dilshan Madushanka ($)
  • Numan Thushara ($)
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Jasan Behrendorff ($)
  • Akash Madhwal

With the addition of Hardik Pandya to the squad, the Mumbai Indians have the best pace attack. Jasprit Bumrah is also back after a career-threatening injury. Only Jason Behenrendorff was the star pacer.

But this season, they have Pandya, Bumrah, Behrendorff, and an improved Akash Madhwal. Moreover, the team has brought in three-star pacers Coetzee, Madushanka, and Thushara from the auction. Undoubtedly, the Mumbai Indians have the best pace attack.

2. Chennai Super Kings

  • Rajvardhan Hangargekar
  • Deepak Chahar
  • Mukesh Choudhary
  • Mustafizur Rahman
  • Tushar Deshpande
  • Matheesha Pathirana
  • Shardul Thakur

Like the Mumbai Indians, the Chennai Super Kings also have one of the best pace attacks. They have Deepak Chahar and Mukesh Choudhary, who can start well with the new ball. On the other hand, Matheesha Pathirana and Shardul Thakur will handle their middle and death overs.

They have a great pace attack. But the only problem is injury concerns. Multiple pace bowlers in the squad are injury-prone.

3. Rajasthan Royals

  • Prasidh Krishna
  • Navdeep Saini
  • Avesh Khan
  • Kuldeep Sen
  • Sandeep Sharma
  • Trent Boult ($)
  • Nandre Burger ($)

The final team to find their place in the S-tier is the Rajasthan Royals. With the addition of Avesh Khan, they have strengthened their pace line-up.

Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma, and Avesh Khan at the start. On the other hand, Prasidh Krishna and one over by the other bowlers are enough for them to restrict the opposition to a lower total.

Also read: Ranking the Best Finishers of the IPL 2024 Teams

A Tier (Good)

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore

  • Cameron Green ($)
  • Akash Deep
  • Tom Curran ($)
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Reece Topley ($)
  • Vijaykumar Vyshak
  • Lockie Ferguson ($)
  • Alzarri Joseph ($)
  • Yash Dayal

Though the Royal Challengers Bangalore are known to leak runs in every game, they have a great bowling line-up. Playing at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium isn’t easy for any bowler. Last time, they conceded almost 200+ runs per game and decided to revamp their bowling line-up.

With the addition of Cameron Green, the team has options. Siraj with the new ball. Followed by either Ferguson, Joseph, Vyshak, or Dayal, they can do better.

2. Sunrisers Hyderabad

  • Marco Jensen ($)
  • Pat Cummins ($)
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • T Natarajan
  • Umran Malik
  • Jayadev Unadkat
  • Fazalhaq Farooqi ($)

With the addition of Pat Cummins, their pace bowling line-up looks strong. Bhuvneshwar Kumar can handle the inning at the start and end. Also, the team can do well with T. Natarajan and Umran Malik.

But the only problem they have is handling the pressure. Cummins doesn’t have a good record in T20, and others aren’t that experienced to handle death over bowling.

3. Lucknow Super Giants

  • Kyle Mayers ($)
  • Marcus Stonis ($)
  • Yudhvir Charak
  • Prerak Mankad
  • David Willey ($)
  • Shivam Mavi
  • Naveen ul Haq ($)
  • Yash Thakur
  • Shamar Joseph ($)
  • Mohsin Khan

The reason why the Lucknow Super Giants are in the ‘A’ tier is because of their overreliance on the Indian pacer. Because of their overpowered batting line-up consisting of three overseas players, only one bowler can be chosen.

Moreover, their Indian pace bowlers are injury-prone. Both their main pace bowlers, Yudhvir Charak and Mohsin Khan, have missed one season due to injury. Also, Yash Thakur isn’t experienced.

4. Punjab Kings

  • Rishi Dhawan
  • Sam Curran ($)
  • Chris Woakes ($)
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Kagiso Rabada ($)
  • Nathan Elis ($)
  • Harshal Patel

With the addition of Harshal Patel, the Punjab Kings have strengthened their bowling line-up. Rabada, Arshdeep, Curran, Rishi Dhawan, and Harshal—the team looks great. But the only problem is their death-bowling.

Only Arshdeep has done well in the death over. Moreover, Harshal Patel hasn’t done well in the past few seasons. As a result, they stand in the ‘A’ tier.

Read more: Ranking the Best Opening Batters of the IPL 2024 Teams

B Tier (Average)

1. Gujarat Titans

  • Spencer Johnson ($)
  • Darshan Nalkande
  • Vijay Shankar
  • Joshua Little ($)
  • Mohit Sharma
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Karthik Tyagi

After the exit of Hardik Pandya and the injury to Mohammed Shami, the Gujarat Titans look weak. They lost their two crucial bowlers, who could ball at the start and the death. They have brought in the addition of Karthik Tyagi and Umesh Yadav, but the performances can’t be as good as earlier.

2. Kolkata Knight Riders

  • Andre Russell ($)
  • Venkatesh Iyer
  • Vaibhav Arora
  • Chetan Sakariya
  • Mitchell Starc ($)
  • Dushmantha Chameera ($)

Though the team has brought in players like Mitchell Starc, Chetan Sakariya, and Dushmantha Chameera, they still look weak. It is still a mystery who will bowl at the start and death. As a result, they stand in the ‘B-tier.’

3. Delhi Capitals

  • Mitchell Marsh ($)
  • Anrich Nortje ($)
  • Ishant Sharma
  • Lungi Ngidi ($)
  • Mukesh Kumar
  • Khaleel Ahmed
  • Rasikh Dar Salam
  • Jhye Richardson ($)

The Capitals pace unit was the worst last season. Mitchell Marsh was the leading wicket-taker in the team by 12 wickets. Moreover, with Visakhapatnam being their new home ground, which has small boundaries, things won’t be easy.

Also read: Ranking the Best Spin Attack of the IPL 2024 Teams

Thank you for reading it. Leave us a comment if you liked it.

Do follow us on: Google News | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | LinkedIn

Have a good day ahead 🙂
Nikhil Lopes
Nikhil Lopes
Hi, this is Nikhil Lopes, who has a great interest in sports. Nikhil has been following several sports in the past few years, like the NFL, football, NBA, F1, UFC, cricket, and many more. The term 'sports addict' completely suits him.

Read More